Give It To You? Okay, Jordan Knight. OKAY.

jkgitu

Please indulge me for a minute here, okay. This is a post about how Give It To You by Jordan Knight is my fuckin’ jam.

Being born in the late 80’s, I pretty much popped out of the womb with a New Kids on the Block cassette in hand. I spent my early childhood Hangin’ Tough because of course, I had the Right Stuff  (I’m so sorry for this).  I was a pre-teen during the Rise of the Boy Bands in the late 90’s. NSYNC. BSB. 98 Degrees. B4-4. 2Gether. If there was a gaggle of reasonably attractive dudes (and that one super old-ass guy) singing to me on television, I pretty much loved them.  But there was always a special place in my heart for NKOTB.  Jordan Knight’s solo effort couldn’t be timed any more perfectly.

There’s something about Give It To You that makes you want to listen to it on an endless loop.  I don’t know if it’s the carnival-esque opening that shifts into a twerkable groove or the overtly sexual lyrics (that I didn’t understand until my late teens) but this song is like meth for your earholes.  It’s impossible to listen to this song one time and resist the urge to shake what your mama gave ya (or what your surgeon cosmetically enhanced).

Me listening to it

Now let’s get into the music video.

It’s so late 90’s. Jordan is fetching in a chunky turtleneck sweater and Unionbay cargo khakis. He has super sweet dance moves (probably taught by THE Darrin of Darrin’s Dance Grooves) that include tons of air humps to accentuate lyrics like “Baby, you know I can give it to you/ Can’t deny, I’ll do it right/Just let me know and I’ll give it to you/ Show me where, I’ll taste you there”  JORDAN KNIGHT IS A POET Y’ALL!  The video has some sort of Grease-like storyline where the Sandy comes out in a sequined tube-top that’s reminiscent of the tube-top Britney Spears wears in CrazyBut the story’s not really important. The air-humping is. I don’t think my incoherent ramblings are doing this song justice so if you have a few minutes, check out the video.